Quick Index
 Adult Industry News
Search AINews Database
Type Keyword or Phrase Here
Pornography feminists unshackle their desires and celebrate their sexuality in the patriarchal world Elementary Public Relations Consulting and Press Release Service

Front Page
Film News
Media News
Business News
Clubs & Appearances
Law & Politics
Internet & Mobile News
Lifestyles Arts Health Charity
Letters to the Editor
Movie Spotlight Reviews
Pornstar Pages
AINews Staff
Ad Rates
PR 101: Press Release Service

Caliente Swinger Vacations!

Club Jessica Jaymes - Official Website

November 08, 1999 04:24pm
Hugh Hefner 1st Amendment Awards
Source: PRNewswire
by: Company Press Release

(CHICAGO, IL) -- For 20 years, the Playboy Foundation, through its annual Hugh M. Hefner First Amendment Awards has recognized nearly 100 citizens whose personal struggles have protected the fundamental rights of all Americans.

The list will grow by seven on Monday, November 15, as the 1999 recipients are honored during the 20th annual awards presentation at New York City's Waldorf Astoria Hotel. Established in 1979 by Christie Hefner, CEO and chairman of Playboy Enterprises, Inc., as a tribute to her father, the awards acknowledge individuals who have made significant contributions to protect and enhance First Amendment Rights: freedom of religion, speech, press and assembly. The awards have been given traditionally in the areas of print and broadcast journalism, education, publishing, arts and entertainment, law, government and lifetime achievement.

``My father has embraced the First Amendment throughout his life and supported the protections these rights extend to all Americans,'' said Ms. Hefner. ``These awards recognize heroes while helping to emphasize the ongoing need for the Amendment. They bring to life the statement popularized by ACLU founder Roger Baldwin that 'no fight for civil liberties ever stays won.'''

Each recipient of the HMH First Amendment Awards receives a $5,000 honorarium as well as a crystal plaque commemorating his or her individual achievements.

The 1999 HMH First Amendment Award winners include:

-- Nicholas Becker, today a University of Maryland student, for challenging the constitutionality of a student-led prayer during his high school graduation ceremony;

-- Michael Moore, documentary filmmaker, for, boldly and irreverently using his cable television show The Awful Truth (Bravo) to educate the public about issues critical to preserving First Amendment rights;

-- Donald Parker, founder of the Long Island Coalition Against Censorship and the New York Civil Liberties Union Nassau Chapter, for his lifelong dedication to combating censorship in the schools and libraries of Long Island, New York;

-- Bruce Sanford, partner at Baker & Hostetler, for his book Don't Shoot the Messenger: How Our Growing Hatred of the Media Threatens Free Speech for All of Us, which sounds a wake-up call about the dangers to democracy from the public's mistrust of those who present the news;

-- Dr. Eugenie C. Scott, executive director of the National Center for Science Education, who effectively defends the teaching of evolution in public schools and;

-- Elaine Williamson and Jeri McGiverin, who as founders of Mainstream Loudoun -- a membership organization whose purpose is to preserve personal and religious freedom -- successfully challenged Internet filters in the Loudoun County, Virginia libraries.

An independent panel of distinguished judges that included Mark Goodman, executive director, Student Press Law Center; Molly Ivins, author and syndicated columnist, the Fort Worth Star-Telegram; and Clarence Page, syndicated political columnist of the Chicago Tribune, selected the 20th Annual HMH First Amendment Awards recipients.

In past years, judges for the awards have included First Amendment advocates such as Nadine Strossen, president American Civil Liberties Union; Tom Wicker, columnist and associate editor The New York Times; Maxine Waters, U.S. Congresswoman; Alan Derschowitz, professor at Harvard Law School; Fay Kanin, past president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science; and Charlayne Hunter-Gault, The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer.

During its 20-year history HMH First Amendment Awards have been presented to individuals including high school students, lawyers, journalists and educators. Nominations are accepted at the start of each calendar year, culminating with the selection and presentation of the winners. Nomination forms for 2000 can be obtained by writing to: HMH First Amendment Awards. The Playboy Foundation, 680 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL, 60611.

The Playboy Foundation supports local and national nonprofit organizations that protect the rights of the individual in a free society. Since its inception in 1965, the Foundation has awarded more than $11 million in grants and in-kind contributions to organizations concerned with the First Amendment freedoms, civil liberties and social justice.

SOURCE: Playboy Foundation

Pornography feminists unshackle their desires and celebrate their sexuality in the patriarchal world

Related Stories

Related Sites - WARNING! Graphic Content


See BiBi Jones at Digital Playground

Top Stories

Dead But Dreaming ~ Reviewer Rated

MWA: 05/12/16

Dava Foxx Self-Booking

Gina Valentina's 1st IR

MWA: 04/28/16

Submission of Emma Marx: Exposed ~ Reviewer Rated

BBWcon 2016

New Webcam Opportunity

NaughtyAllie Facelift

Nina Elle MiniView

Kahlista Stonem Available

Sanders, Trump Joint News Conference

Naughty Massage

Redefining the Status Quo

Jenevieve Hexxx at Trixie's

Ocean News from Lexi Love

Hard Squeezes

APAC and Sex Worker Rights

New From Rodney Moore

RNSU Radio Thurs March 24

New Girls

What We Signed Up For

The Directors

What is Consent?

MWA: 03/16/16

MWA: 03/12/16

Bee, Evans at Sexpo

New Gay News Site

MWA: 02/28/16

Alana Evans on MTV

MWA: 02/17/16

Sexpo Cosplay

MWA: 02/13/16 AVN AEE 2016

Cruz Receives Porn Offer

MWA: 02/12/16

Poking Around AVN 2016

Deadly Famous

Planet Venus

The Hedge Against Exploitation

Performers File Unpaid Wage Claims

Stories From

Law & Politics

Sanders, Trump Joint News Conference

Cruz Receives Porn Offer

Performers File Unpaid Wage Claims

Candidate Sex Tape Scandal

Donald Trump Porn Parody

Sex with Donald Trump

Hof Runs for Senate

Adult's Achilles Heel

AHF's Hidden Agenda

Pistol, Ross Talk Condoms

Modern Comstockery

Hof on Phoenix Hooker Bust

Cal/OSHA vs Evil Angel

Pornstar Graduates Law School

AHF Against AB 999

CraigsErotica Letter to Senators

Amazon Crushes Small Business

Letter of Equality

ASACP Service Recognition Award

Suit Filed Challenging Measure B

ASACP Ready For Internext

Octomom Loses Civil Suit


Crakmedia ASACP Corporate Sponsor

Mo Reese Statement

CAM4 Newest ASACP Sponsor

Mo Reese FSC Nom

Amber Lynn Seeks FSC Board

Suit Against Measure B

Law Puts Con in Condom

No on B: Here's Why

NO on B Campaign

NO on B Bus Tour

GFY: Vote No on B

Margold on Erection Election

Alex Chance in Documentary

Yahshua: No On B

No On 35 Rally

Why No On B

Measure B Threatens Freedom

Measure B Protest Video

No On B Raffle

Alia Janine: No On B

AHF Vilifies Porn

No on B Event

Takedown Piracy Removes 10,000,000

Three Stooges Porn Controversy

Suing: Wasn't Sexy Enough

Lords of Acid Censored

Nate Glass on CNBC

Law & Politics Section Index

Copyright © 1998 - 2016 Adult Industry News (AINews.com)
All materials constituting text, articles, press releases, stories, columns, photographs, graphics, and code on the AINews.com domain are protected by copyright, and either owned by Adult Industry News (AINews.com), or reproduced with permission from other copyright owners. It may be downloaded and printed for personal reference, but not otherwise copied, altered in any way, or transmitted to others, without the written permission of Adult Industry News (AINews.com).